Recipes Of Home

Is egg vegetarian or non vegetarian

Vegetarianism in the Western world

In the Western world, vegetarianism is mostly related to plant-based foods only. Vegetarians do not eat meat, poultry, fish or any other animal-derived food products like eggs and dairy products.

But Lacto-ovo vegetarians can consume eggs but refrain from eating meat, fish and poultry. However, they can eat eggs and milk as well as other dairy products like cheese, butter etc.

Lacto-ovo vegetarians can consume egg

Strict vegans refrain from eating any kind of animal product and using any animal-based substances. Some vegans are strict vegetarians while others are pescetarians or people who eat fish but no other meats.

Strict vegans avoid animal product

Liberal view of Vegetarianism in Indian culture

Many Indians do not think egg as meat, instead a dairy product because it comes from living creatures but isn’t meat since there is no killing involved in their production. Many Indian cultures don’t eat meat at all and consider milk, cheese and yogurt to be part of their diets instead

You decide which one you are

Here I gave small clarity on whether egg is veg or non veg food. In short, eggs are non-vegetarian food. But if your culture considers eggs non-vegetarian and you follow that belief, then you are a non-vegetarian.  However, if your culture considers eggs vegetarian and you follow that belief, then you are a vegetarian.